On the homefront

ya1-11_16

Did anyone else listen to Garrison Keiller’s, Tales from Lake Wobegon, in the nineties?

Well it has been a quiet week in Lake Wobegon, AKA home.

Most things here are determined by homeschooling and a pattern of Andy leaving for work on Sunday afternoon and not coming home until Thursday night. It makes for a very short weekend but I’m learning to cherish the feeling of sadness I have when he leaves as a token of love rather than loss. We are making the most of every minute of the shortened weekend as you may have noticed from my social media activity. Nothing fancy, just good home cooked meals, a little baking, a little cinema, trips out to favourite places not far from home and church.

If anyone reading this also suffers from being apart from loved ones, I hope you find some practices that make it a little easier for yourselves.

We like to share Compline*, by phone, several times a week. Andy reads and by the time he arrives at …

“As the night watch looks for the morning, so do we look for you, O Christ.

Come with the dawning of the day and make yourself known in the breaking of the bread.”

… we’re ready for a restful goodnight and some well earned sleep.

In further news, I am knitting mittens and gloves (endlessly). These in the picture are for Lucy. Knitted up in Debbie Bliss merino wool (Rialto) from a sweet vintage pattern I found inside my Grandma’s war time knitting book, I’m really happy with the colours and the stitch definition.

I’m linking up with Ginny Sheller at Yarn Along today. This is a great place for those of us who love our yarn craft and our reading. Visit her blog for restful thoughts a couple of times a week and the most beautiful homesteading photos.

In terms of reading, I might just treat myself to a Garrison Keiller short story. Sadly most of his early books are now out of print but you can still get hold of second hand copies and wonderful recordings of him reading the stories of small town American life for the radio.

yarnalongbutton1-002

img_0947

img_0948

*Compline is a service of evening prayers from  the Divine Office of the Western Christian Church, traditionally said (or chanted) before retiring for the night. we use the Anglican order and you can find it here.

8 thoughts on “On the homefront

  1. Your yarn looks so cosy and beautiful 🙂 Can you imagine that I’ve just finished my first pair of mittens ever? Such a rewarding and rather quick project. Now I can’t stop and started on the next pair. There will be lots of mittens for Christmas 😉
    I’ve lived apart from my husband for a couple of years and we used to see each other twice a month for the weekend. After years of now sharing every evening and every weekend I’m still so very grateful for this being together every single day.
    xxx

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment. We’ve been Christians forever and married for over twenty years. We’ve shared compline for a couple of years now and as a prayer practice together it works well for us. It’s perfect for the phone.

      Like

  2. My daughter and her family relocated to Bangkok Thailand last year – her husband is a minister and they took a church there. We live in Arkansas. We miss them – daughter, son in law and three of our grandchildren – terribly, but it’s also drawn me closer to my faith and strenghthened it. This is something that is TRULY in God’s hands and not mine – which is probably a good thing!😋 I know the meaning of the Serenity Prayer for sure now. These things make our separation at least a little more bearable.
    Thank you for a wonderful post!

    Like

    1. Serenity prayer! Yes of course. Being apart certainly gives you a different perspective on family, roles, things taken granted. But you’re right it’s about trust. So much of our faith is just that, leaning harder into God as an act of trust. Thanks for telling me about your family. Has given me some thing to think about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

